Apr 222008

Font Size » Large | Small

Few Americans know that the Security and Prosperity Parnership of North America (SPP) includes the initial institutions for governing this continent. The information is on a document available from a link at a government website with a description of this “roadmap” for the SPP. Directions and a link are provided in this article.

The leaders of Canada, Mexico and the United States met in New Orleans (April 21-22) for the fourth annual summit of the Security and Prosperity Partnership of North America. Their main concern was defending against attacks on NAFTA. You rarely heard the words Security and Prosperity Partnership. (Photo: Three amigos hoping to put a good spin on NAFTA’s failures)

The goal of the three leaders is to bring about the “establishment by 2010 (it’s behind schedule) of a security and economic community of North America…an ambitious but achievable goal that…buttresses the goals and values of citizens of North America. (CFR plan, p.32) Are you a citizen of North America, or the next step,  John McCain’s Free Trade Area of the Americas?

The call for the establishment of this community by 2010 is from the Council on Foreign Relations Task Force plan for Building a North American Community. The SPP roadmap was supported with funding from Merrill Lynch & Co. and Archer Daniels Midland Company.  (CFR plan, p. xx)

A description of the plan and a link to the (full text)  document can be found on a U.S. Department of State website. Below is a description of the governing institutions (two of which are already functional) and a comparison to their European Union counterparts.

Keep in mind that the CFR document is being fully utilized by those members of the trilateral working group who are integrating North America at the U.S. Department of Commerce under Geri Word, and by members of congress, with legislation.

To access the CFR plan for Building a North American Community, go here, read the article by Judy Aita, click on (full text) at the end of the article, then click English version (295K PDF).

The first institution for the North American government is a permanent North American Tribunal. It is a trade dispute resolution tribunal under NAFTA’s chapter 11 but not yet “institutionalized,” that is, not “capable of building institutional memory or establishing precedent…” (CFR plan, p.22)

Judges are appointed to hear a case but legal experts say the tribunal is unconstitutional and would be declared so if a state cared to pursue it. In its area of competence (trade disputes between foreign businesses, investors, member nations, local governments) it is supreme over all courts in North America (including our U.S. Supreme Court) and has already exercised that power in the three member nations of NAFTA. See “Review of U.S. Rulings by Nafta Tribunals Stirs Worries.”

The European Union’s version is the Court of Justice, whose members are appointed. It “has the power to settle legal disputes between EU member states, EU institutions, businesses and individuals.”  More details.

The second institution is the North American Advisory Council, now called the North American Competitiveness Council (NACC), CFR plan, p. 31.)

Their job: “To insure a regular injection of creative energy into the various efforts related to NORTH AMERICAN INTEGRATION, the three governments should appoint an independent body of advisers. This should be composed of eminent persons from outside government, appointed to staggered multiyear terms to insure their independence.” (This was done in 2006, with 10 CEOs appointed from each NAFTA nation; Canada, Mexico and the United States.)

“Their mandate would be to engage in creative exploration of new ideas from a North American perspective…” (In fact, NACC members meet with and tell the SPP ministers and heads of state what they want in order to make the trading region of North America a reality and they implement it.)

Prime Minister Harper of Canada made it clear who is running this “community” of North America:

“We committed to further engage the private sector. We’ve agreed to set up a North American Competitiveness Council, made up of business leaders from all three countries, to advise us on ways to improve the competiveness of our economies. They will meet with our ministers, identify priorities, and make sure we follow up and implement them.”

The NACC will also “provide a public voice for North America.”

The NACC’s counterpart in the EU is the European Commission.

“The Commission is independent of national governments. Its job is to represent and uphold the interests of the EU as a whole. It drafts proposals for new European laws, which it presents to the European Parliament and the Council.”

Members of the Commission are appointed and “are committed to acting in the interests of the Union as a whole and not taking instructions from national governments.”

The Commission “represents the European Union on the international stage, for example by negotiating agreements between the EU and other countries.”

The third institution (not set up yet) is a North American Inter-Parliamentary Group.

“The U.S. Congress plays a key role in American policy toward Canada and Mexico, and conducts annual meetings with counterparts in Mexico and Canada. There is no North American program.” (CFR plan, p. 32)

‘The Task Force recommends that the bilateral meetings occur every other year and that the three North American partners form a trinational inter-parliamentary group to meet in the alternating year.”

(This means that some members of the U.S. Congress and their counterparts in Mexico and Canada will meet every other year in what will be a precursor to a North American Parliament.)

“The North American Advisory Council (North American Competitiveness Council) could provide the agenda and support for these meetings.”

(The NACC’s job, like its EU counterpart, is to represent the North American Community. But instead of drafting legislation, like the EU Commission does for the  Parliament and Council, the NACC will advise and have the legislation prepared for the North American legislators inter-parliamentary group. Members of the NACC include: Wal-Mart, Lockheed Martin Company, Home Depot.)

The legislators can then return to their respective nations and work to pass the bills necessary to continue the integration of North America. And in the future, the NACC, a permanent North American institution, will eventually propose legislation for a North American Parliament.

As you can see, these less than honorable leaders are serious about this goal of replacing our sovereign nations with a “North American trading area,” complete with a “corporate” government. The reason? The three sovereign  governments will be a roadblock to the fast pace needed to be “competitive” and conduct business on a global scale so they will be superseded, the citizens of “North America” be damned.

Think it can’t happen? Check out the European Union.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
 Posted by at 11:15 am